Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/22/2020 12:12:56 PM
Posted: 10/1/2007 3:21:51 PM EST
[Last Edit: 10/10/2007 10:38:00 AM EST by nate392]
Hey everyone, I recently have been interested in learning to ride, real interested. Before I can take the safety course I would like to know some feedback first though on a important first step, the bike. I am not a big dude by any means, 5'8 160lbs, and I was wondering what would be a good starter bike in the $700-$1300 (yea i knw, but consider im a poor starving college student)price range. I know some of you are for, and against jap bikes, but I was considering one of the older Honda CB's 450-750cc range, or maybe an older Yahama from 1970's- 80's. I would just like a cruiser for comin up in the fall once I pass everything. I am not interested in any crotch rockets, well notyet atleast lol, u guys have any ideas on what would be good to start with>?thanks
Link Posted: 10/2/2007 1:56:40 AM EST
Nate I see you are in CT so this is the time of year to buy an older machine people don't want to garage them for another year. Repeaters advice is great Have you checked Craigslist?
Link Posted: 10/2/2007 4:54:58 AM EST
[Last Edit: 10/2/2007 6:51:25 AM EST by TruckinAR]
Your budget just dropped by 400-500 bux on a bike.... GET GEAR!!
A ll
T he
G ear
A ll
T he
T ime
ATGATT!
Good helmet... how much is your head worth? $125 to $500 I have An HJC ($120) for dirt and a Scorpion($200) full face for street.
A good Jacket with armour.. Fieldsheer ($99) or Joe Rocket ($=?)
Pants with Armour, range in price from $150 and up
Good boots. I use Doc Martins not the best idea ( no support or ankle bracing) but will protect my hoofs. Boots range from $125 bux up to $300

Gloves, the first thing you'll try and do is "catch" yourself when, yes WHEN, you eat shit. Hopefully it will be a slow moving one for your first.
They run from $25 to $100 +