Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/18/2003 7:06:46 AM EDT
Got any suggestions, I have never done this before.  I am going to get some natural casings tonight, I ground up about 25lbs of venison and 10lbs of beef fat with some quick cure and various spices.  I borrowed my buddies water smoker, going to pick up some alder or apple with hickory as the back-up.  Now what???
Here is what went into the grinder last night!www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=1&f=11&t=214776
Link Posted: 11/18/2003 11:02:11 AM EDT
[#1]
Nobody has any ideas on making smokies!  Maybe everybody is just holding back on the old family secrets! [Arock] If they turn out tasting like shit I will hold all of you personally responsible and will call your bosses at work to complain! [/Arock]
Link Posted: 11/18/2003 11:21:31 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 11/18/2003 11:26:05 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
Calling TRG

You rang? [/Lurch Voice]

Ok, first, you said you ALREADY ground the meat?  What are you going to use to stuff it in to the casings?  Hand stuffer, or do you have a stuffing tube for your grinder?

TRG
Link Posted: 11/18/2003 11:39:42 AM EDT
[#4]
I am going to assume that you have some way to stuff the casings.  

From what you wrote in your post, I am not sure if you are wanting info on building a smoker, a water smoker, or how to stuff the cases, how to cook it, how to tie it, how to hang it...

Kinda throw me a bone here, let me tell you what I know.

I do not make my own stuffed sausage any more.  It is too much trouble when I prefer the sausage in patties.  Patties are more versatile and fit in to other recipes better than links.

Couple of things...

Add powder ranch dressing to your sausae blend.  this will recapture some of the moisture and enhance both the mooisture and the flavor.  You could also use powdered milk to get the same effect.