Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/14/2009 8:41:57 AM EDT
I am ready to get out of this line of work. I was a small town cop for 7 years and have about 7 years as a deputy sheriff in southwestern Illinois. I'm a firearms instructor, but don't have a lot of experience because we're allowed to run basic qual courses only due to time and ammo constraints, not real training like we are capable of. I've got some experience as a drug task force agent, but we're part time. I've always wanted to get into investigations, but openings there are few and far between. I've considered contracting, but I don't have military or tactical unit experience. Relocation for my family is out of the question.

I've probably just realized that I'm screwed and stuck here forever, considering all of the above.
Link Posted: 6/14/2009 9:03:29 AM EDT
[#1]
If you are ready to get out of the law enforcement line of work consider the medical field.  Most of the community colleges offer nuring programs.  I know JALC, Rend Lake, and Shawnee do.
Link Posted: 6/14/2009 9:07:55 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
If you are ready to get out of the law enforcement line of work consider the medical field.  Most of the community colleges offer nuring programs.  I know JALC, Rend Lake, and Shawnee do.

Thats a good piece of advice. I also have 14 years in and I'm pretty burnt. I am seriously considering getting my RN and then possible continuing to Nurse Anestitist.

OP do you have a degree in anything right now?

J-

Link Posted: 6/14/2009 9:12:42 AM EDT
[#3]
I'm looking for something similar to the field I'm already in. I can't afford to go back to school.

My degree is in law enforcement.
Link Posted: 6/14/2009 9:25:05 AM EDT
[#4]
consider security company owner/trainer

private investigation

maybe you could be an instructor for multiple departments. firearms, taser, oc spray

law enforcement gun sales ie glock, colt etc