Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/25/2006 6:35:58 AM EDT
Beetlebailey's thread got me thinking about this, since I am in a similar situation.

A little background:

I am in the military on special orders dealing with security at a headquarters facility.  From May 2002 until April 2006 I worked as a squad leader for our security force, doing NCO-type duties like training, supervising, and taking care of my soldiers, whose numbers ranged from 4-13 on varying occasions.  Good, solid work of the type I enjoy, and exactly the kind of thing I expected to do in the military.

Suddenly, everything changed this past April.  The three people above me in the chain of command (a SSG, a 1LT, and a CPT) all left the program to take positions elsewhere within about a month of each other.  Suddenly I am the only on of the four left, and I basically have to do all of their duties.  I'm no longer working as a squad leader or doing anything hands-on at all, I'm sitting at a computer working on paperwork projects, for a civilian boss (retired officer).

I've got absolutely no training or experience in an office environment. The only civilian type jobs I've ever had were in restaurants before 9/11.  I've made a number of mistakes in the past few months which I only now recognize in hindsight.  Last week I was nearly fired for how I worded a memo to some civilian guards.  I'm having to learn everything the hard way, because my civilian boss - while extremely intelligent and knowledgeable - is way to busy and unorganized to take the time to show me anything about what he wants, so I have to pick everything up on the fly, and constantly get corrected on how I do things.

So, now I recognize the importance of CYA in this environment.  I don't enjoy what I do anymore, but I also don't want to leave the program under bad conditions.  Here's a few things I've learned along the way: