Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 1/3/2003 7:52:40 AM EST
Today my dad got a notice that he was a warrant out for his arrest. When he called to see what it was about, it was for a parking violation in a fire zone. The problem is that the car that was ticketed was one that he had sold last year. He has no bill of sale for selling it and did not send in a notice of tranfer either. The people that he sold it to never re-registered it, they didn't insure it and he doesn't know were the people are from. Since it is still registered to him, could he report it stolen, or is there some other course of action he can take to resolve this issue? Thanks for any help.
Link Posted: 1/3/2003 7:56:55 AM EST
I am not a lawyer, and I don't play one on TV, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once. Sounds like your dad is between a rock and a hard place. Reporting it as stolen wouldn't be good - lying to the 5-0 doesn't make you any friends. Best bet would be to hope that the police are understanding of the situation and look out for the car so they can speak with the new owners.
Link Posted: 1/3/2003 8:00:13 AM EST
Have him CALL the court who issued the warrant and explain the situation. If he goes and talks to a cop about it, the cop has very little discretion to use on a warrant, and your pops will probably go to the slammer for a night. At least thats the way it works around here.
Link Posted: 1/3/2003 8:09:09 AM EST
The warrant was issued in a city 3 hours from where he lives. He couldn't get arrested in a municipality that the warrant wasn't issued in could he? So far, he could just pay the $190 ticket and be done with that part of it, but the car would still be in his name. Any ideas of how to get that liablity off his back?
Link Posted: 1/3/2003 8:18:34 AM EST