Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/20/2015 3:36:49 PM EDT
So after spending the latter half of 2014 looking for work, 2015 has started off with some great luck and I have 2 companies that want to hire me.

I am a mechanical engineer by the way.

Company 1 made me a solid offer this morning, about 5k more than my previous job.  I'd be working on radio frequency systems which I find interesting, company size about 800.  I have until Thursday to accept their offer.

Company 2 can't make me an offer until I meet with their owner who's traveling for business this week, but I've been told by the head of engineering that he's never not hired anyone that made it this far in the interview process.  I'd be working on medical devices, company size about 200, they're exploding in growth right now, company's owner has a singular no non-sense vision for the company which I really like after working for a large company that started going Office Space near the end.  Pay would be at least equal to Company 1, though probably 2-3k more.

I really like aspects of both companies, I feel like if I could get into Company 2 at this time I would be working some long hours but be in a great position in the company, but I'd have to reject company 1's offer without having a solid offer from Company 2 yet.

Decisions, decisions....

Link Posted: 1/20/2015 3:39:21 PM EDT
[#1]

tell company #1 that you need a week.

Link Posted: 1/20/2015 3:39:54 PM EDT
[#2]
Bird in the hand.  You can always accept the offer from the first company, then if the second offer is all you've ever dreamed of, call the first back and let them know you changed your mind.  This happens more often than you might think.
Link Posted: 1/20/2015 3:41:21 PM EDT
[#3]
long term prosperity is what you seek not short term gain....think long term and which of the opportunities better fills that need
Link Posted: 1/20/2015 3:42:54 PM EDT
[#4]