Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
11/22/2017 10:05:29 PM
Posted: 10/23/2004 11:40:58 AM EST
I'll try to make a long story short. I am an owner operator trucking company with two trucks leased on to a company. I pay the company $100 a week for trailer rental for a 48' flatbed. I have been renting it from them since April 2004. We have received tickets and warning 4 times because we did not have documentation for the trailer and requested this information from our company. My driver was put out of service 2 weeks ago for not having trailer documentation. The company would always tell us they would pay the tickets and get it taken care of. Wednesday of this week my driver delivered a load to Virginia (we are in Texas) and received a call from the company's dispatcher to only bring a load back to Texas and park the trailer in the company yard. My driver knew this was out of the ordinary and questioned the dispatcher who finally told him the trailer was listed as "stolen" since May 2004. Apparently my driver was told back in April 2004 to pick up the incorrect trailer in the storage yard the company shares with other trucking companies. We later had converations with the Genaral Manager about how much they paid for the trailer, etc. because I asked about purchasing it from them. We have been running about 7 months now with a trailer that has been listed as "stolen."
Trying to keep it short....I had my driver drive empty to home at my expense. A talk with the company owner has resulted in the owner threatening to end our business relations "contract" if I turn the trailer over to the authorities and talked to DOT (Department of Transportation) instead of keeping quiet and returning it to the company storage yard and letting the company I am leased to try to contact the owners of the trailer and compensate them for use of the trailer.

Any good suggestions or lawyers that could handle this in Texas?