Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/1/2012 2:40:39 PM EDT
Going to visit some folks in the Central Valley. Was just going to take the 99, but I hate the Grapevine/99 so I thought about going the long way up 395 then cutting across through Yosemite.  Never done it.  I might camp a night or two along the way and I'm also a photographer, so I'd like to stop for pictures along the way.  

This would be in July, so I'm not worried about snow, just what the drive is like.  

Link Posted: 7/1/2012 2:58:29 PM EDT
[#1]
Should be scenic.  Sorry if that doesn't help.  
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 2:59:31 PM EDT
[#2]
It's a fantastic drive, one of the best anywhere. I think it's $20 to get into YNP at the summit coming up from the 395 side. Stop by Glacier Point if you possibly can.

Google Street view gives you a taste,
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 3:03:51 PM EDT
[#3]
Paved road, one lane each way, steep, granite on one side and blue sky on the other, scenic in the extreme.

Have fun.
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 3:05:55 PM EDT
[#4]
Done that numerous times.  It's spectacular.  You will pay park entry fees as someone has mentioned.

Do it if you can.
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 3:07:50 PM EDT
[#5]
Thanks all.  Looks like I'll take the long way.  Appreciate the responses.
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 3:08:56 PM EDT
[#6]
You can probably go one pass further north too and save the park fees.  That comes out in Sonara iirc.  If you want a quick, fun twisty twisty drive, exit Yosemite north to Groveland and drive Old Priest Grade.  You don't have to go very fast to have alot of fun on that.
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 3:15:32 PM EDT
[#7]
You lucky bastard.  Epic drive.  Spend an extra hour and head up to glacier pt as mentioned above.  It's worth $20 and a three minute hike.
Link Posted: 7/1/2012 3:17:10 PM EDT
[#8]