Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/8/2007 5:27:09 PM EDT
I talked to the cadre at my AFROTC detachment regarding the DoD physical and medical disqualification. I have been receiving allergy shots for about 4 months now (seasonal allergies). I am worried that I will be medically disqualified from contracting with the USAF because of this. However the Det. Commander said that as long as I have not been medically diagnosed by a doctor to have allergies (this is reflected on my "medical record") I should not tell the DoD docs conducting the physical that I have said allergies.

My question is (n00b question): Define "medical records" because I'm certain my Allergist has records of my having allergies and receiving treatment, but I'm not sure about the University's medical records of me and my general physician.

I mean, asthma cannot be waived (I don't have asthma), but can allergies be waived?
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 7:54:09 PM EDT
[#1]
bump
Link Posted: 10/8/2007 9:28:12 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Medical records are highly fragmented between institutions, meaning the hospital you went to will have your medical records but the gov't won't unless you ask to transfer them.  Rather, the USAF will probably just start a medical record for you while you're in the service.

So unless you tell them you've been getting shots, there's no way for them to know, just as your commander said.

good advice above.

Don't tell the DOD docs a damn thing.   They are looking hard to disqualify you and anything you mention can end your career before it has begun.     YOU ARE IN PERFECT HEALTH, PERIOD.   Lie!.   I saw two buddies lose flying slots because they thought honesty was the best policy, and mentioned minor medical problems.     Minor problems are no longer disqualifiers AFTER the USAF has spent 500K on your training.