Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
10/20/2017 1:01:18 AM
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/20/2005 12:59:21 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/20/2005 12:59:57 PM EDT by Dv8xbox]
So I had a "discussion" with my X g/f about shifting gears when i am driving and just cruising I usually go in this order : 1st , 2nd then just pop it in 4th .

She told me it is bad on the Transmission to skip gears. Is that true?

And please explain why either way ..
Link Posted: 9/20/2005 1:00:55 PM EDT
Maybe not the most efficient but can't see it being bad in any way.

I thought this was going to be about shifting without the clutch. I can do that when I'm not fighting the morons that jackrabbit ahead to be sure they hit the red light so I can't keep rolling through at the same speed hitting green after green.
Link Posted: 9/20/2005 1:01:25 PM EDT
The only argument I can come up with is uneven wear on the gears.

I am no mechanic though, so you would have to ask them.
Link Posted: 9/20/2005 1:02:43 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/20/2005 1:02:56 PM EDT by vanilla_gorilla]
Doesn't hurt at all. My '90 GMC halfton only saw 2nd, 4th, and 5th gears for nearly 70K miles. First was too low and there was really no point to 3rd.
Link Posted: 9/20/2005 1:04:11 PM EDT
As long as your taking the RPM level up high enough in 2nd - It wont hurt it . . . .

Its not the best gas mileage method of driving - You just want to make sure your in the "RPM" range of 4th

Hope that helps
Link Posted: 9/20/2005 1:06:07 PM EDT
on most cars for you to go from 2nd to 4th you would really need to wind out 2nd gear. if you dont have the rpm's high enough in second, when you shift to 4th youll be seriously bogging down the engine - not good for the motor or the clutch
Link Posted: 9/20/2005 1:07:25 PM EDT
Absolutley not!

it physically cannot hurt anything internally in the transmission, it does make the engine "work" a little harder lowering your gas mileage a little...uses more fuel to lug the engine