Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/12/2011 6:23:54 AM EDT
I've got a 12 meg cable modem and am paying 49 per month for their home telephone with a battery backup. Is there any better option?

I'm really new to this, but  it  looks like I'd have to have a computer on all the time  for magicjack to work?

thanks!
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 2:12:15 PM EDT
[#1]
Google voice is free.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 3:01:19 PM EDT
[#2]
That doesn't really help.  Google Voice requires you to have a phone line of some sort (either land line or VoIP) to receive incoming calls.  It is not a replacement for phone service, but merely augments what you're already paying for.

I researched VoIP phone service recently.  Ultimately I had to stick with the old land line, because my alarm system will not work with anything but a regular land line.  But I did learn some things.

I didn't like MagicJack for a few reasons.  Mainly, I didn't want to have to run their software.  I didn't want to dedicate a computer to running it, or rely on my desktop machine being powered up to  use the phone.  MagicJack doesn't even offer their software for Linux, so I'd be without a phone half the time.  No thanks.

Then there's MagicJack's idea of "customer service."  There's not even a support phone number, just some goofy online "chat" thing.  Again, no thanks.

I investigated other options as well.  

NetTalk Duo could not be confirmed to work with my router.  
Ooma's device was too expensive.
Vonage has a $10/mo. plan that might be OK if you don't make many calls, as you only get 200 minutes per month without paying extra.  And the hardware cost was modest (~$40 IIRC).

There are a whole bunch of options, and probably one somewhere that will work for you.  You could read up on them where I did, the VoIP forums at dslreports.com (DSLreports VoIP forum).
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 5:13:49 PM EDT
[#3]
Run your own IP PBX system in your home: