Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 8/19/2004 2:59:40 AM EST
[Last Edit: 8/19/2004 3:09:40 AM EST by macro]
ANGER MODE ON:

In the last 24 hours I have read news articles about how this kid is having a comic book made about him, and now garorade is making a new flavor based on him...this on top of the biggest sneaker contract ever written...so, can someone tell me exactly what this kid had done that is so great?

He has played one mediocre year.
His career so far has been all hype.
I see more media pictures of this guy at hollywood premieres, with celebrities, and in commercials, than I do of him winning games.

This kid has a high school education that served primarily as a backdrop to his basketball studies, and now makes more money in a year than most of us could make in 10 years working 2 jobs. (for the record I have a degree in electrical engineering and make less in one year than he makes playing a single game in the NBA)

Can anyone here explain to me what is so fkn great about this kid?
He's no Michael Jordan, the fact that he is wearing #23 is an insult.
I always thought that you had to earn your stripes in this world....
apparently that is not the case if you are a slightly above average athelete / media darling.

Am I wrong? Maybe im just pissed off that our mens basketball team made a joke of themselves in the olympics - and maybe if the original people picked to play weren't more interested in smoking weed, playing video games, and defending themselves in criminal trials, the USA team could have competed.

Wake up people - these guys arent role models....they are really, really lucky, and thats about it.
I dont care how good of an athelete a person is....no one deserves millions of dollars to play a game, not under any circumstance. If you are the best basketball play to ever breathe air, you still shouldnt be valued in society, because that skill is irrelevant.