Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
PSA
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 11/18/2008 10:50:26 AM EDT
Is there any real disadvantage to downloading one for $15?
Link Posted: 11/18/2008 11:00:55 AM EDT
Depends on what you own and how complicated you want to get.  

I bought Quicken Willmaker and it was just fine.  Very informative and it took me step by step through the process.
Link Posted: 11/18/2008 11:03:29 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 11/18/2008 11:03:56 AM EDT by BushBoar]
See a lawyer.

I'm not just saying this because I'm a lawyer.

Seriously.

I've seen so many things messed up with do it yourself kits for wills, contracts, divorces, etc.

Spend a couple hundred dollars on the peace of mind.

I will say though - some big firms around here will charge $1500 for a will and give you a 50 page, very impressive looking document...  that does exactly the same thing that a 2 page, $200 will from a small firm will do.  They do it to justify their high fees.  Don't get caught in that trap.
Link Posted: 11/18/2008 11:05:48 AM EDT
Originally Posted By BushBoar:
See a lawyer.

I'm not just saying this because I'm a lawyer.

Seriously.

I've seen so many things messed up with do it yourself kits for wills, contracts, divorces, etc.

Spend a couple hundred dollars on the peace of mind.

I will say though - some big firms around here will charge $1500 for a will and give you a 50 page, very impressive looking document...  that does exactly the same thing that a 2 page, $200 will from a small firm will do.  They do it to justify their high fees.  Don't get caught in that trap.

+1

Link Posted: 11/18/2008 11:13:57 AM EDT
Unless the SW has improved greatly, see a lawyer.

There are MANY small things that very state by state.

Just as an example, at least one executor of a Virginia residents will MUST also be a Virginia resident.

You can have as many executors as you want but one must be a Va resident.

Link Posted: 11/18/2008 12:19:33 PM EDT