Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/23/2006 6:08:09 PM EDT
Between this and afew other boards I go to, here in ARFCOM land, I have noticed that some if not "more than afew" think knowledge is based almost entirley on "post count"...

Is this true?

It happened to me on a Q&A that someone posted.  A person came back to me and said, "people who have been around here longer are more knowledgable.".  I noticed it in the hangun boards too...  Someone said to another, "be it that you have a low post count...".  

Now, I have been around AR's for about 18+ years.  I have "plinked" with them in highschool, "used" them in the service (well their varients) & I have owned my own for the past 6 years.  Not to mention my friends that have all used & had & have them.  I am not saying that I am an expert, by any means, but I can say that just because my "ARFCOM post count" is low doesn't mean I have no knowledge.

I was on ARFCOM before & lurked for a year before I got on then.  After my membership was cancelled, I lurked for another year before coming back afew months ago.

My question is simple...  Do you snub another members questions or comments based on their post count?  

I personally don't even look at the post count, to me it just means that they spend to much time on the computer...lol.  

What say ye?  How do you judgge other members (paying or not)?
P.S. If this is to be moved, so be it.  But I feel it pertains to all the boards.  Just a simple question about members for members...
Link Posted: 8/23/2006 3:30:20 PM EDT
[#1]
As with friendship, I believe it's the quality that counts, not the duration, in this case, post counts.
One with 10000 post counts that consist mostly of general discussions only means he has posted that many times, substance (or the lack thereof) notwithstanding.  To that end, it doesn't mean a damn thing.