Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 8/13/2011 7:14:34 AM EDT
I have a older GE top load washer that has a bad motor (atleast that's what I've come up with) but a replacement motor cost around $300. So I guess its time to buy a new one. So my question is.....

What would be the best brands to look at? Im not looking to spend a whole lot of money.

Where are the best places to look?

Im kind of new to all of this since this is my first house also I have a baby on the way so money is kind of tight.

Thank you
Cody
Link Posted: 8/13/2011 7:18:32 AM EDT
Whirlpool Top Loader.

My dad is an appliance repairman and it's what he recommended when we were buying.
Link Posted: 8/13/2011 7:21:23 AM EDT
I have a Fisher and Paykel EcoSmart washing machine.  It was inexpensive and it is solid.  Love it.

Link Posted: 8/13/2011 7:21:36 AM EDT
DO YOUR RESEARCH ABOUT ODOR ON ANY MODEL YOU THINK ABOUT BUYING

The front load washers sometimes smell like a dirty wet dog. Mine (Fridigaire bought from Lowes) front load has never smelled but I can say about 75% of my friends (all dif brands) has a odor issue where they have to run a special tablet in their washing machine every week to clear out the molding dog smell...
Link Posted: 8/13/2011 7:23:54 AM EDT

Originally Posted By Seabee_Mech:

Whirlpool Top Loader.  My dad is an appliance repairman and it's what he recommended when we were buying.

This

Link Posted: 8/13/2011 7:25:06 AM EDT
I have a Speed Queen.  I love it.
Link Posted: 8/13/2011 7:25:18 AM EDT
Originally Posted By FeedMyBeltFed:
DO YOUR RESEARCH ABOUT ODOR ON ANY MODEL YOU THINK ABOUT BUYING

The front load washers sometimes smell like a dirty wet dog. Mine (Fridigaire bought from Lowes) front load has never smelled but I can say about 75% of my friends (all dif brands) has a odor issue where they have to run a special tablet in their washing machine every week to clear out the molding dog smell...