Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 5
Posted: 12/28/2015 11:36:17 PM EDT
It ain't the best looking squat in history but I'd never had near that much on my back before, so I like it.

In case the video isn't working...  Here's the link

A little background-

40 Years old
Been lifting 11.5 months
15 months ago I was in a wheelchair after an autoimmune attack on my spinal cord caused me to lose function in my lower body.  I was in a wheelchair for about a week, then a walker for two, crutches for a while, cane for months, then walking like a drunk.  It was during the walking like a drunk stage that I started lifting, although I did regress a few times and end up taking a cane to the gym.  I directly attribute strength training to a lot of my recovery, but I think it's primarily because of the nutritional changes I made when I started eating for strength.

My starting and current weights are-

Squat- 3x5@185 to 405x1
Overhead press- 3x5@70 to 170x1
Bench 3x5@125 to 240ish for 1.  I haven't benched in months so I don't know what this is anymore
Dead 1x5@200 to 415 for 1

I've also done a 200lb clean- my goal is yet to get a 300lb clean and 200lb snatch.  I have only managed a 140lb snatch so far, but my technique is awful.

I've gained 30lbs, it looked like all fat for a while then I started losing fat and kept the weight, now I'm losing weight and still getting stronger.  I started at 195lbs and I'm now 225ish, actually 223 yesterday.  Peak weight was right about 230, far heavier than I'd ever been in my life.

Link Posted: 12/28/2015 11:38:14 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 12/28/2015 11:43:40 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 12/28/2015 11:45:12 PM EDT
[#3]
I squated 700 something when I was playing JV football. Some guys were benching 400.

But there were also two brothers who strained to bench the bar....... All 35lbs of it

But thats just me being a dick about your achievements........