Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 6/29/2001 8:07:40 AM EST
I am not a lawyer, so please don't take my opinion as gospel. Yesterday's ruling in the California Supreme Court appears to me to do only one thing - It prevents the Attorney General from adding vague items like "AK-47 series" and "AR-15 series" to the list of arms defined as "assault weapons" under the Roberti-Roos Assault Weapons Control Act of 1989. That means (IMHO) a stripped AR lower receiver that is not of a banned make and model should be legal, much as they were during the first several months of 2000. Again, I am not a lawyer but it appears that the door is now open to obtain an AR-15 legally in California. Here's how it could happen: - Buy a stripped lower receiver of a non-listed brand. I won't give any examples because Mr. Lockyer can do his own homework. - Put it in storage and wait for it to be listed as an assault weapon. - Register it. The state will have to grant a grace period for people to register newly-listed items. - Assemble to your heart's content. This is exactly what I did to obtain an on-book AR during the year 2000. The only way this method could fail would be if the AG never lists your lower receiver. An alternative method would be to buy a non-listed model and assemble it (post-ban of course) all the way except for the pistol grip. Use a sawed-off pistol grip until the make and model get listed, then register per above.
Link Posted: 6/29/2001 9:17:47 AM EST
As I posted on another thread, I wonder what will happen with the AR/AKs bought after 1999 but before Aug 16th and registered. Will the registration still be honored? Unless the AG decides to add more rifles by name to the list I would be worried about my Y2K bought AR being recognized as an assault weapon. Seems like a SKS senario in the making all over again.
Link Posted: 6/29/2001 9:27:39 AM EST