Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/21/2013 1:27:42 PM EDT
If one was to purchase a little hobby CNC mill, how difficult would it be to make your own mags?  

I used the old mills (manual) in shop class in HS.  That was back in 1991 when I graduated.

I would imagine the hardest part to make would be the springs.  Can you still find springs for AR and AK mags?  

Just pondering the choices for someone who didn't have enough AK mags when this latest shitstorm went down.  I have 30 AR mags, but only 5 AK 30 rounders and 2 40 rounders.
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 1:32:53 PM EDT
[#1]
I think they'd be easier made by stamping than milling.

Or 3d printing

Link Posted: 1/21/2013 1:34:49 PM EDT
[#2]
All the cool kids are now using 3d printers to make their own magazines.

Well, they are working on it, anyway.  Apparently with some success,

It is not easy, no matter whether you use the new 3d printers, or older conventional means.

Not saying it can't be done, but it's not easy.
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 1:34:53 PM EDT
[#3]
It's not worth the effort unless you can justify $200-$500 per mag. You're better off getting a part time job at McD's and buying mags.

I've done it once, and that was using a pre-existing 20 rd mag and modifying it to work in a bolt action. It still took me a pretty long time. I tried to make one from scratch and gave up after about 20 hours.

A mill really won't do you any good by itself since you need to mill the stamping dies then have a press large enough to stamp the body. And even if you make one that 'looks right' you can still have major feeding issues like all the cheap mags do.
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 1:36:11 PM EDT
[#4]
Sounds like a real expensive way to make magazines that are normally produced as spot welded assemblies of metal stampings and springs.