Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 1/22/2011 8:43:41 AM EDT
I am a novice photographer, having done nothing "good" in my opinion with the exception of my son's 6-month pictures. I was shooting outside in perfect lighting conditions, so I was lucky.

My brother-in-law is getting married in 1 year from now, and has asked me to do the photos for his wedding. I need some input.

I have:
Nikon d50
SB-600 flash w/ Fong Lightsphere
Nikkor 50mm f1.8
Nikkor 35-135mm

I will be shooting indoors since it is a winter wedding. I haven't been to the location yet, and won't see the conditions until late spring or summer, so I don't know about room size or ceiling height.

Are there any tips or gear I should start looking into getting now to get some practice under my belt? I try to use a low ISO (around 400) and generally let the camera select the f-stop and shutter speed for me. I have only played around with f-stops on still life style shots. I've debated on getting a flash bracket to get the external flash off the camera body, but am wondering if this will be enough.

Any input on how to help this turn out the best will by greatly appreciated.
Link Posted: 1/22/2011 9:36:32 AM EDT
[#1]
Suggestions? Ummm, bend over and grab your knees?

Have you ever shot a wedding before? Do you know what your brother-in-law is expecting (is he paying you for this gig or are you just doing it and giving him a disc of images?)? What style of wedding photography does your brother-in-law want - portraiture, PJ, etc?