Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
PSA
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 1/8/2005 6:08:24 PM EDT
I have a Janitrol gas furnace, LP, and it's running but the burners only light for 5 seconds or so, then shut off.

I've metered all the limit switches, and jumped across them to rule that out, no luck. Shut down the breaker first to clear the electronics just in case, etc.

The pressure valve is working, tested it on the meter too (suck in/blow out, test for open/closed switch).

The blower motor is kicking on, and everything looks like it should work but still no luck.

I'm a relative newbie to furnace repair, so I'm thinking gas pressure is weak. Dunno what else to try, any suggestions?
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 6:13:58 PM EDT
check the rollout sensor.
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 6:15:46 PM EDT
flame sensor
A small round rod and one end of the burners w/ a single wire attached to it.
Usually orange in color.

Now send my prize.
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 6:18:39 PM EDT

Originally Posted By ARs4EVER:
flame sensor
A small round rod and one end of the burners w/ a single wire attached to it.
Usually orange in color.

Now send my prize.

If that ends up being it, I'll do just that!
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 6:22:58 PM EDT
No way to bypass that part. If its under 5 years old parts are free.

Rick
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 6:30:03 PM EDT
Thermo-coupler, take a piece of emry cloth and polish it.
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 6:40:15 PM EDT

Originally Posted By 1shott:

I don't think it has a thermocouple. These have either a hot surface ignitor or spark ignition.
No need for a standing pilot. Thats old stuff.

Rick
Link Posted: 1/8/2005 7:31:14 PM EDT

I don't think it has a thermocouple. These have either a hot surface ignitor or spark ignition.

Rick

Correctomundo, no thermocoupler.....and drum roll please....