Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 7/20/2008 2:33:33 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 7/20/2008 2:40:52 AM EDT by BuffLuver]
Heres the story, I have been a Govt Contractor for almost 3 years now working at various locations in N.VA, I live in MD. I have had commute lengths of almost 170 miles a day now down to 110 a day. For the last 26 months I have been working as a courier and that adds another 50-60 miles to my daily drive, depending on what day of the week it is, we alternate driving every other day for the run.

The company I work for is pretty small but we get darn good money considering what we pick-up and deliver and also due to our security clearances. Last Fri I was called by Northrop Grumman and offered a job, I had interviewed a week prior to that. They can not match the salary I am making now, which I figured would happen due to the Govt entity that will be the sponsor for my Clearance.

They best they can do is offer me $5.46/hr less then what I make now. On the plus side I will be reducing the mileage I add to my Jeep by over 11,500. I have an 04 Jeep Liberty which I bought new July 04 with 5 miles on it and I now have over 102,000 on it, I would say 75% of that mileage comes from my driving to N.VA. So that would decrease the $ I spend on gas by at least $3,500 not to mention oil changes and wear and tear on my Jeep.

My commute is Rte 95 to Rte 495, in the AM I rarely have problems, coming home is a whole different story. Last Fri I left at 2:10 PM because I had to get home and take a pet to the Vets. I didn't get home until 4 PM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That was for a 55 mile drive. And Summer is only half way done, I do not feel like going through that crap each Fri.