Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/3/2005 3:56:52 PM EDT
Friend gave me a motorcyle a few days ago that needs some work, I miss having project cars so I figured this would be as good as anything.

What I know:
No title (working on abandon'd veh title, bike was given to him without a title)
1981 Honda CB400T
Definately needs either a new tank or atleast a hell of a referb job done on existing tank.

Wondering if it's worth fixing, check out the pictures.

Here's here's the best part,...... I have ZERO experience working on motorcycles -- all my background is working on Jap cars (mitsubishi's specificially).

Anyone see off hand something that makes this bike not worth fixing? Forks need to be re-sealed/oild.... looks like whatever used to be an intake pipe is now missing, whatever covered the electronics is missing.... ignition switch is missing (hence why I'm not going to start work prior to title in hand, just incase it's not "clear")

I would love to have this thing up and running within 6 months, but I have a feeling that's asking a lot.
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 4:10:00 PM EDT
[#1]
Honestly, I think by the time you get it running, you will have put enough money into it that you could buy a nice used newer bike.  Of course, you could donate it to the next Harley rally, so they could use it for the Honda drop.
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 5:54:52 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 6:50:21 PM EDT
[#3]
Like the other poster said, it would cost a lot more to get it running than it's worth. You could easily buy a used bike for what you'll put in it. Then again, if you want a project, do it anyways.
Link Posted: 9/3/2005 8:21:33 PM EDT
[#4]
If you're handy enough and can do all the work youself, it would make a cool little cafe racer.  You'll probably have to pull all the parts (engine/frame/wheels/forks/etc) and paint/powdercoat them or polish.  You might be able to get it up and running for 1K-1.5K.