Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/4/2010 4:44:55 PM EDT
Anyone have recommendations for a decent cover for a sport-tourer type bike with a windsheild that doesn't cost too much.  Good or bad experiences with any in particular?  I can't keep my bike in a building anymore, so I need something that should keep the elements off of it.  I'm afraid that the real cheap "weather proof" ones would let moisture under it and then trap it.

Got any tips for using them, I've never used one before.  I should let it cool first, right?  Completely, or will mostly do?  If it does get rained on, should I take it off to let it dry under the cover?  Stuff like that.

ETA:  Got the Dowco WeatherAll Plus, size large.  Now, some questions...

I have a question about the storage bag it came with. It's got two handles near the top at the edges of the zippers that seem pretty purpose-built. That got me wondering if there's some certain way that it wants to be stowed or if they're just general use handles or attachment points to bungee/tie to something or what. Would stuffing it in a saddlebag be the best bet?

Also, the no-scratchy padding on the inside for the windshield doesn't seem to account for locking the wheel to the side; it seems like it's meant to be on a bike with the wheel straight ahead.
Link Posted: 4/4/2010 5:15:51 PM EDT
[#1]
When I had to have my bike outside a couple years ago, I bought one of those cheap ones from walmart.  Worked OK until the sun finally rotted the inside lining out and it started disintegrating into a powder, which made a mess on my bike.

Ended up buying a Dowco, they are more expensive but I think they have a lifetime guarantee, or at least a decent one of some type, and they have a much better and softer lining.  MUCH more heavy duty and 100% waterproof.