Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 4/14/2018 12:34:55 PM EDT
So I was a police officer for a very short time back in 2011-2012 and moved out of state due to the military. I have now moved back permanently to GA. I decided to contact the Georgia Post council on a whim and found out my license is still active. They only recommended I take some refreshers on current law ect.

Now if I decide to go back into Policing will there be any real benifit since I have been out of it for so long? In my mind I figure if I even get hired I would have to go back to a academy anyways.
Link Posted: 4/14/2018 12:36:13 PM EDT
Only you can decide that. If you want to do it again, go for it.
Link Posted: 4/14/2018 12:45:04 PM EDT
You will not have to go back through the academy but you will have to pay a bullshit fee to POST for the gap in service and you will have to shoot a qual score.
Where are you in GA?
Link Posted: 4/14/2018 12:50:17 PM EDT
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By jakoury256:
You will not have to go back through the academy but you will have to pay a bullshit fee to POST for the gap in service and you will have to shoot a qual score.
Where are you in GA?
View Quote
South East Fayette county. Shooting shouldn’t be bad as I have been doing yearly qual on the Federal firearms test. I will have to call POST today and ask about the fee.
Link Posted: 4/14/2018 1:33:25 PM EDT
Originally Posted By Blackcat360:

South East Fayette county. Shooting shouldn’t be bad as I have been doing yearly qual on the Federal firearms test. I will have to call POST today and ask about the fee.
View Quote
I can't remember if it is $200 or $200 for each year.

POST is still fucked up. We hired a guy a few months ago that had been out for 3 years. POST made me have him shoot the qual course for each year he was out