Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/12/2006 4:27:46 AM EDT
Tryin to decide which way i wanna go. here are some pro/cons

On Board Air:

Pros -

Always have continuous air with or without an air tank.

No need to go anywhere to fill up tanks

Not as bulky as CO2 tanks

Cons -

Not as portable as CO2 tanks

Requires power from batt.

CO2 tanks

Pro -

Totally portable

Decent usage (about 40 times you can pump up 33" tire from 10-15psi

Can mount or pack easily

Completely self contained

Faster than OBA system unless tanks is near empty

Con -

Not infinite supply , but good for a day or two of trail riding

cost money to fill

Hmmm, im guessing the CO2 tanks would be fine for weekend warriors, but im looking at long term. Seems the OBA would be better approach. I have no experience with either system.
Link Posted: 8/12/2006 6:43:30 AM EDT
[#1]
If you get a OBA system, make sure you get onw with a 100% duiy cycle or close to it. I would alos look at mounting a air tank, 5 Gallon or so. I found some that fit between the lower rocker pannel and the frame (tucked up out of the way, also easy to fab up a skid plate for. Alo I remeber you added dual batteries, which is good, but make sure you upgrade you alt. if you go OBA, they draw a lot of volts. Check out HERE for a good deal. If you decide to go Co2 tank, don't buy one of the pre-made power bottles, just go down to yuor local welding shop and get everytbing. That's what I did and is cost me about $100.
Link Posted: 8/12/2006 6:49:47 AM EDT
[#2]
oba
Link Posted: 8/12/2006 2:08:43 PM EDT
[#3]
OBA.

Get an old automotive York AC compressor and convert it.  You can pull one pretty cheap and there are rebuild kits for them on teh web.  Get a 5gal tank in your truck and go for it.  It runs when your truck runs.  Make sure to get some check valves and stuff.  I think Petersen's 4wd had an article on it last month.
Link Posted: 8/12/2006 3:51:56 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
OBA.