Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 3/24/2009 6:04:20 AM EST
So I'm new to this whole workout thing. My wife went to Basic in February and since she left I bought a weight bench and starting cycling about 3.5 miles every day. I'm eating a lot betetr than I was - no junk food, fast food, sodas, all I drink is water. I've lost 13 lbs on it and I have gained significant muscle mass in my legs and arms. Anyhoo... onto my actual question.

What is the difference in bench pressing with the back flat vs the back inclined? I have only been benching flat, do I need to do inclined instead or should I be doing both? I do a full body workout every other day as opposed to working one part of my body every day. basically I'm looking to maximize my workout.
Link Posted: 3/24/2009 6:19:39 AM EST
[Last Edit: 3/24/2009 6:20:15 AM EST by AGW]
Link Posted: 3/24/2009 6:21:03 AM EST
Incline targets your upper chest more and I believe also hits the front deltoids (shoulders) more.

I work all 3 planes. Decline, flat and incline. Incline is by far my weakest and decline my strongest due to the shorter range of motion.
Link Posted: 3/24/2009 6:50:34 AM EST
[Last Edit: 3/24/2009 6:52:34 AM EST by Mountain_Snipe]
Yes, incline exercises work your upper chest. Don't incline too much, as was said above you'll be using too much of your deltoids which defeats the purpose of a chest exercise.

If you want to fully develop your pectorals, you should be doing flat, incline, and decline exercises.
Link Posted: 3/24/2009 6:56:48 AM EST
Thanks for the clarification! :)
Link Posted: 3/24/2009 7:03:19 AM EST
Originally Posted By Blackbird_Pilot:
Incline targets your upper chest more and I believe also hits the front deltoids (shoulders) more.

I work all 3 planes. Decline, flat and incline. Incline is by far my weakest and decline my strongest due to the shorter range of motion.

same here

J-