Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/18/2001 3:00:55 PM EDT
Alright, I'm not a lawyer, nor am I going to try to explain what happened here as it would only confuse people.  Could someone with more legal knowledge then I please explain what this ruling means for us: [url]http://laws.lp.findlaw.com/1st/001544.html[/url]

Thanks,
Kharn
Link Posted: 6/18/2001 3:12:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Damn lawyers...
They have to make everything difficult.
Link Posted: 6/18/2001 3:53:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Nothing new there, Kharn.  Court held that the 2nd didn't apply to this handgun, per US v. Miller, and that the chief of police was shielded from personal liability in a federal suit, even if his actions for the background check went beyond that mandated or allowed by state law.

Conceivably, the guy could sue the sheriff at the state level for violating state law, but that wouldn't be useful, since the prohibition of the lautenberg amendment applies at the federal level, where the background check done was admissible, so it'd be hard for him to show a valid issue before the state court.  Moot points usually aren't adjudicated.
Link Posted: 6/18/2001 4:09:11 PM EDT
[#3]
I'm civil business, but I will try to translate. Back me up if anyone sees an error.
A 1983 action is how you apply the US Constitution against a state/local government.
Plaintiff alleged a violation of his second amendment rights resulting from his denial.
The court found that the chief had qualifed immunity, and trashed the discretionary/ministerial difference (at least in cases where they like the results).
They then found that there is no Federal right to have a local offical follow state law.

Big one:

Then, they found the denial was in error, but found they don't care because the second amendment is not an absolute right.