Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 1/25/2009 12:49:56 PM EST
What do you think about these?  Less secure than electronic key pad?  I would imagine the life span would be much shorter because the electronics would give out one day.  It seems like a good looking safe.

It is more expensive than its counterparts it seems, but I don't know a whole lot about small safes.

http://www.samsclub.com/shopping/navigate.do?dest=5&item=342854&pCatg=6983
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 12:50:48 PM EST
What if I lose my finger?
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 12:52:23 PM EST
I would be hesitant to trust my valuables, and possibly my life, to a cheap Chinese fingerprint EPROM.
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 1:16:17 PM EST
Not necessarily that model, but the concept.  If there is a knockoff, there is an one that is quality product.  What about the concept?
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 1:18:31 PM EST

I work in the computer field and have one of these for my computer.

No way I would trust my life on it

Link Posted: 1/25/2009 1:21:48 PM EST
Gotcha.  I was curious because I know you can buy a USB one for like 30 bucks or something like that.  What about advancements in that technology.  It says a lot that the technology has hit the common market, along w/ retinal and iris scan tech. What kind of tech development time before it is the quickest.  5 years?  10? 25?  It would seem very easy to widely integrate the technology.
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 1:32:55 PM EST
The power is out because its SHTF time.. They don't work for Crap when cold... What now??  Edit,, your from Al,,, nevermind,,  how about a humidity problem???  Get one with a Dial, good enough for Grandpa!!
Link Posted: 1/25/2009 1:36:52 PM EST
What kind of life span is expected on electronic key pad technology?  How long before they go tits up?  I know a dial will last, however, I'm curious about the others if for nothing other than the sake of knowing.