Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 4/18/2007 9:44:06 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/18/2007 9:46:09 AM EDT by Luckdog]
I hope this is not a repost, but I have not seen it posted.
First off, I consider Field & Stream to now be a elist, rich yuppie magazine, and the only reason I have a subscription is that it came free with a shirt I paid $8 for at a discount store.
That being said, on about page 4 of the May 2007 issue is an "editor's note" by David E. Petzel entitled "A Letter From Fuddville".
I do not want to post the entire article in case of copyright issues, but in the article Mr. Petzel states that he deplores the trashing of Jim Zumbo and that this "only" gave ammunition to the gun control lobby.
He goes on to state that, "The whole mess brought to light a highly vocal subculture of black-rifle entusiasts who not only don't hunt but are contemptuous of those "Fudds" who do. Yes, as God is my judge, we have a whole segment of gun owners and shooters deriding peoble because they hunt."
Later in the article Mr. Petzel states that, "A lot of Fudds are not happy with what happened to Zumbo, nor are they fans of black rifles, nor are happy with the bellicose attitude of some people who own them."
Basicially he says that inspite of these bad black rifle people, the Fudds will defend the black rifle owners second amendment rights in the up-coming antigun bills because they will come after the black rifles first.
I agree that all gun owners need to fight these battles united but we can not tolerate Zumbo behavior in the ranks.
Am I wrong, I lived through the last gun ban fight, did not the Sportsmen throw us to the wolves to protect their guns?

Link Posted: 4/18/2007 9:47:57 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/18/2007 9:50:21 AM EDT by Aimless]
Link Posted: 4/18/2007 9:47:59 AM EDT
Post the whole article.

This guy needs his ass fired.

Link Posted: 4/18/2007 9:49:44 AM EDT

Originally Posted By AJE:
Post the whole article.