Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/28/2005 10:56:24 AM EDT
I put this in the FAL section too but I thought it would get more hits here.

I know this has been probably asked a million times but I couldnt find a thread to answer it. How accurate is a FAL at say 2-300 yards? 300 yrds + ? This is given that it has a good scope and is zeroed. Are certain FALs more accurate than otheres or is is a crap shoot. How accurate are the STG58s out of the box? Is the FAL considered a precision weapon with the right accesories?
Also, what is the bullet drop out FAL .308 at say 300 yrds? Are we talking a few inches or a foot?
.308 noob here. -Thanks
Link Posted: 9/28/2005 10:57:50 AM EDT

Originally Posted By tacman22:
I put this in the FAL section too but I thought it would get more hits here.

For saying that, this will get moved for you by a mod to the FAL forum.
Link Posted: 9/28/2005 11:03:15 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/28/2005 11:09:24 AM EDT by K2QB3]
My FAL is MOA out to 400meters,off the barrel mounted bipod. Haven't tried longer ranges.

That's with a leupold, proper headspace, Aussie surplus, and a new argentine chrome lined barrel.

You'll hear good and bad, mostly IMO because there's a lot of shot-out, pitted, and/or badly assembled FALs floating around. There's no inherent difference in accuracy between the FAL and H&K platforms IMO.
Link Posted: 9/28/2005 11:06:05 AM EDT
I've had nothing but quick responses to my questions whenever I've posted in the arfcom FAL forum.
Link Posted: 9/28/2005 11:06:56 AM EDT
FALs are MBRs, Main Battle Rifles. Not really intended for less than MOA of man at 300yds.
The Austrian STG-58s are generally very good shooters, because they were never actually used and are basically "as new".