Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/30/2002 9:47:23 AM EDT
[url]http://www.keepandbeararms.com/information/XcIBViewItem.asp?ID=3384[/url]

By Robert Lyman
4/27/02

The recent school shooting in Germany has undoubtedly left that country shocked and numb; certainly I am saddened by the tragic deaths of 14 teachers, 2 students, and a police officer at the hands of a lunatic.

This is, however, a good moment to discuss the gun laws in Germany and the role they may have played in this tragedy.

My wife and I lived in Germany for a year as students. We were members of a gun club there (We have the cards to prove it) and we even bought two rifles and brought them home with us. I am a minor expert on German gun laws, as I was very interested in comparing them and their effectiveness to American laws. Here I summarize the law as it was from 1999-2000 and insert my personal experience and the things I was told by German gun dealers and citizens.