Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/28/2006 3:19:54 PM EDT
I was talking with one of my Sgt. and my department is thinking about uping hiring requirements with a minimum of an associates degree.

See Poll
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 3:28:55 PM EDT
[#1]
I have a Bachelors and am working towards my Masters.

I would suggest a waiver for  current officer transfers and active duty service members....otherwise all you get is college boys.

Were hiring now if anyone is interested

warwickpd.org/employment.htm
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 4:03:11 PM EDT
[#2]
BS in Behavioral Science
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 4:58:45 PM EDT
[#3]
B.S. in botany, about halfway to an MA in CJ.
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 5:26:46 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 7:21:59 PM EDT
[#5]
I'm a high school graduate w/ 3 years of college but no degree.  I've seen plenty of people w/ BS degrees & higher who coulnd't find their ass w/ both hands.  I have seen the opposite as well.  Unfortunately departments think because you managed to make it through four years of school, your the perfect choice for law enforcement.  I think it depends more on maturity & world experience than degrees, etc.  

Unfortunatly police depts are really going to be in trouble in a few years.  More & more college grads are realizing that police work won't pay enough to pay off those loans like the money from the private sector does.

The Indiana State Police just lowered the school requirements because they aren't getting anywhere the number of applicants like they were before.  It's just going to get worse.
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 8:01:07 PM EDT
[#6]
BS in Criminal Justice, worthless....Heading towards my Masters in PA.  And I agree, a degree doesn't make you a better cop.  When I was hired in 95, I was the only one in the whole department that had one.  Now we are at about 50%.
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 8:05:09 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted: