Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
1/25/2018 7:38:29 AM
Posted: 2/17/2002 5:06:59 AM EST
[Last Edit: 2/17/2002 5:10:53 AM EST by Ghettoblaster]
Dear eBay User: We have updated several of our servers to provide you with a faster, more efficient service. However, as a result, we need you to verify your eBay account. This is done to assure that no one else has access to your account or your private account information. To verify your account, please visit our eBay Verification Page (edit: url won't come up in cut and paste, so it had to be typed in the edit) http://www.ebay-verify.com You will have 48 hours to verify your account, at which point you will be unable to log into your account. None of your data, such as items you are currently the winning bidder on, will be lost, but will be inaccessible until you have verified your account. eBay Verification Page Thank you again, and sorry for any inconvience this may have caused. Have any questions? Call us! Phone: 1-902-445-2636 Fax: 1-603-954-1293 -The eBay Team ------------------------------------------------ I just got this email and if you go to that page, it will ask you for your credit card number and Palpal password. 1) I have never had to give my Paypal password to ebay. 2) The page is unsecured. 3) As big as ebay is, you think they could get an 800 number. 4) The drop down menu for your state of residence is all zeros. 5) Shouldn't an official Ebay url look something like www.ebay.com/verify instead of www.ebay-verify.com? Looks like a scam to me.
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 5:11:22 AM EST
Looks like a scam to me. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ Registrant: ebay-verify.com 8 Westoak Court Greensboro, NC 27407 US Domain Name: EBAY-VERIFY.COM Administrative Contact: Whitestone, Robert robertwhitestone@yahoo.com 8 Westoak Court Greensboro, NC 27407 US 336-852-2541 Technical Contact: Manager, Domains domains@netfirms.com 5255 Yonge St 800 Toronto, ON M2N 6P4 CA +1.4166612100 Billing Contact: Whitestone, Robert robertwhitestone@yahoo.com 8 Westoak Court Greensboro, NC 27407 US 336-852-2541 Registration Service Provider: Netfirms, Inc., domains@netfirms.com +1.4166612100 Record last updated on 17-Feb-2002. Record expires on 12-Feb-2004. Record Created on 12-Feb-2002. Domain servers in listed order: NS1.NETFIRMS.COM NS2.NETFIRMS.COM The previous information has been obtained either directly from the registrant or a registrar of the domain name other than Network Solutions. Network Solutions, therefore, does not guarantee its accuracy or completeness.
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 5:18:12 AM EST
If you have not already done so, notify ebay, I'm sure they will get this shut down and more importantly press charges.
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 5:26:13 AM EST
Good work XM777! [beer] I'll notify eBay, just wanted to run it by some of you to make sure...
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 5:31:18 AM EST
Something here REALLY smells. Give them nothing and report them.
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 5:56:58 AM EST
Originally Posted By Ghettoblaster: Looks like a scam to me.
View Quote
Scam. 100%, absolutely, positively, without any doubt,
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 6:27:23 AM EST
Forward everything you have to eBay's SafeHarbor!
Link Posted: 2/17/2002 6:41:16 AM EST
Ghettoblaster, when I try and type in the website you provided into my PC, it comes up with the notification that "the website has been disabled"----sounds like it has been taken care of---thanks for the info. Paul LaVanway
Top Top