Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/16/2001 12:06:53 PM EDT
Haven't read it yet: [url]http://www.ca5.uscourts.gov/opinions/pub/99/99-10331-cr0.htm[/url]
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 12:18:06 PM EDT
Here's the bottom line as I read it (I am not a lawyer): "We agree with the district court that the Second Amendment protects the right of individuals to privately keep and bear their own firearms that are suitable as individual, personal weapons and are not of the general kind or type excluded by Miller, regardless of whether the particular individual is then actually a member of a militia.(66)..." Hooray! [50] But the 5th District disagreed with Emerson's claim that Section 922(g)(8)(C)(ii) violated his Second Amendment rights: "...However, for the reasons stated, we also conclude that the predicate order in question here is sufficient, albeit likely minimally so, to support the deprivation, while it remains in effect, of the defendant's Second Amendment rights. Accordingly, we reverse the district court's dismissal of the indictment on Second Amendment grounds." Bottom line - Major victory for gun rights advocates in general, but it sucks to be Dr. Emerson today.
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 12:26:29 PM EDT
Good news indeed for gun owners!!! Too bad about the indictment against Dr. Emerson though.
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 12:27:06 PM EDT
However, for the reasons stated, we also conclude that the predicate order in question here is sufficient, albeit likely minimally so, to support the deprivation, while it remains in effect, of the defendant's Second Amendment rights. Accordingly, we reverse the district court's dismissal of the indictment on Second Amendment grounds. I might cry...i had hopes for this....shall not be infringed is now dead.
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 12:28:41 PM EDT
Sounds like they are trying to split the baby.
Link Posted: 10/16/2001 12:31:01 PM EDT