Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/8/2001 11:31:07 AM EDT
I have two problems. #1.I am currently in the Military.  I have been a resident on NC for three years.  I have purchased 2 ar-15s and 2 shotguns  all of which are illegal in CA.  #2. I just found out about the new registration policy in CA so I have 2 ar-15s in CA that are now illegal.  What I want to know is can drive my weapons through CA, pick up my other 2 rifles and take them all up to Oregon for storage?  Is there any legal way to take my unregistered weapons out of CA?  Or am I just totally screwed?  
Link Posted: 9/8/2001 11:36:33 AM EDT
[#1]
As long as no one catches you, you probably could.
Link Posted: 9/8/2001 1:09:42 PM EDT
[#2]
By the letter of the law, no.  Your only legal option is to surrender them to the authorities.

However, if you were to just go and do it and be quiet about it, the guns would be legal to keep stored in Oregon.
Link Posted: 9/8/2001 4:07:24 PM EDT
[#3]
If you are driving straight through, except for rest stops and overnight sleeping, and not making any side trips - yes you can. Federal law protects you so long as your firearms are legal where you are coming from and where you are going to. Mind you in CA all firearms must be transported unloaded ( AR's and hand guns in locked cases ) and the ammo kept seperate. Also in CA a loaded mag is considered a loaded firearm (figure that out!).

If you doubt me cehck it out here at the DOJ firearm web page:
[url]http://caag.state.ca.us/firearms/travel.htm[/url]
Link Posted: 9/8/2001 4:42:43 PM EDT
[#4]