Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/21/2013 2:17:45 PM EDT
Yes I'm a noob. My father, a Vietnam Vet, passed away in 2010. I was given one of his dog tags by my mother shortly after services. I never served in military but was always very proud of my father for volunteering for service. (Air Cav). I wore the dogtag out of respect and remembrance but seamed to have bad luck. A couple of weeks ago I removed it and things have gotten better.

What say you? Was I disrespectful? I hope not, thanks
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 2:22:48 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 2:24:09 PM EDT
[#2]
It's a dog tag, not a magic talisman.  It's a way to remember your father, wear it/keep it with you if it makes you feel better.  It's not like you're claiming to be a veteran.
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 2:26:54 PM EDT
[#3]

I don't find your actions disrespectful at all.  Wear your dad's tags with pride in who he was and what he did.

Link Posted: 1/21/2013 2:28:35 PM EDT
[#4]
I was issued dog tags, and I'm here to tell you that you have every right to wear your Dad's tags. If you had a run of bad luck while you were wearing them, I don't know what to tell you.

He earned them and he passed them to you. Fuck anyone who tries to tell you that you can't wear them.
Link Posted: 1/21/2013 2:28:49 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
It's a dog tag, not a magic talisman.  It's a way to remember your father, wear it/keep it with you if it makes you feel better.  It's not like you're claiming to be a veteran.

This. As long as you aren't using them to claim to have served when you did not, i see no reason why you can't wear them. Hell, even if they had your info on them, I still don't see any reason why anyone can't wear them so long as they aren't trying to pose as a vet. Dog tags with your basic info on them as well as basic medical info(allergies, blood type) can serve a good use to anyone in an emergency situation, in or out of the Military.