Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 3/14/2006 4:07:35 PM EDT
There are many opinions about firearm ergonomics, however I don't know if there is a clear definition. Many people will trash a certain rifle because it has "bad ergos" or "ergos suck" Well, why does it suck? Is it the length of pull? Where the controls are located? how the grip or gun feels?

It is all subjective than definitive.

And what rifles do you feel have bad ergonomics?

So far very few people can explain why a HK rifle or Steyr AUG has bad ergonomics.
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 4:09:20 PM EDT
Overall feel, combined with ease of operation, ease of mag changes, etc. Very subjective. To me a standard AR has great ergonomics because that is what I started shooting with and used for six years in the military.
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 4:10:15 PM EDT
1. how comfortable is the rifle to hold, shoulder, and shoot. for example, rifles with pistol grips are generally considered more ergonomic than thoes without because a pistol grip allows the rifle to be held with the wrist in a more natural position.

2. how fast and easy the rifle is to operate. how easily and quickly the charging handle, magazine release, etc can be operated. bullpups like the AUG are sometimes said to be unergonomic because the magazine is located farther away from the shooter's non-dominant hand, so reloads tend to take longer. also, on bullpups many of the controls are located in difficult to access positions for lefthanded shooters.
Link Posted: 3/14/2006 4:18:38 PM EDT
When I use the term, it is purely a term that describes the way that a rifle personally "fits" me and my body and preferences.

For example, the HK G3 just doesn't fit me very well, and it is difficult for me to shoot it accurately without having a bruised cheekbone by the end of the day. Not ergonomic for me.

Link Posted: 3/14/2006 4:25:33 PM EDT