Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Durkin Tactical Franklin Armory
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/14/2002 10:03:15 AM EST
Alot of people on the board are getting this email.

[url=http://www3.ca.com/solutions/collateral.asp?CT=65&ID=1864]Link to the following passage[/url]

[b]JDBGMGR.EXE Hoax[/b]
A hoax claiming that a standard Windows utility is a destructive virus.

Computer Associates International, Inc.
March 06, 2002

Hoax Alert  

For more information on this hoax, please see the JDBGMGR.EXE Hoax description in our Virus Encyclopedia.

As well as portraying all the standard hoax features, (warns of a dire 'danger' then suggests that the receiver should send it onto all of their friends to minimize the damage that the 'virus' may cause) this E-mail hoax advises the user to delete the file JDBGMGR.EXE, which it states is a virus. For greater impact and added realism, this hoax even lists detailed instructions on how to remove this file from your computer.This hoax is very similar to the infamous SULFNBK.EXE Hoax.

Two things should be noted about the file JDBGMGR.EXE.

First, it is a standard utility program (the Microsoft Debugger Registrar for Java) included with some versions of Windows and is normally installed in the 'system32' subdirectory of the WINNT directory. It has an icon in the form of a teddy bear that may lead users to be suspicious of it.

Second, because of its location and size and being a PE-style EXE, JDBGMGR.EXE has been observed included as an attachment in e-mail messages sent by the Win32.Magistr virus. Thus, if you receive a copy of JDBGMGR.EXE as an email attachment, that could well be an infected copy of the file and an indication that the sender is infected with Win32.Magistr.

The text on this page is part of a hoax and is not a legitimate warning or offer. We present it here to help you identify any hoax messages that you receive. Please note that hoaxes often have several variations in circulation, so you may receive a hoax message that is similar, but not identical to the message below. Computer Associates Technical Support Teams around the world have received many different versions of this hoax. See below for examples of this hoax in English, and another in Spanish (which when translated, reads quite differently).

Link Posted: 5/14/2002 10:12:28 AM EST
Thanks for the heads up Vinnie
Link Posted: 5/14/2002 10:15:17 AM EST
Thanks for posting this.  There is a rash of virus hoax emails going on.

Here's another source of good information:

Link Posted: 5/14/2002 4:57:25 PM EST
btt just incase anyone missed it
Link Posted: 5/14/2002 5:01:44 PM EST
hehehehe For once I didn't fall for it. I got this e-mail and decided not to do what it said. Lucky for me!
Link Posted: 5/14/2002 5:57:07 PM EST
Hey DonR, along with the new cooking forum, can you ask His Goatness about a "Heads Up" Forum, where we can post in comming Virus and Virus Hoaxes that seem to be plauging this board?  The GD is great, but warnings will get pushed to lower pages too quickly.
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!

You will receive an email every Friday morning featuring the latest chatter from the hottest topics, breaking news surrounding legislation, as well as exclusive deals only available to ARFCOM email subscribers.

By signing up you agree to our User Agreement. *Must have a registered ARFCOM account to win.
Top Top