Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/20/2005 8:15:00 PM EDT
I had a conversation with one of our real heros today at the high school where I am currently the SRO.  

The school was having a carreer fair in the gym, attended by mostly colleges and a few businesses.  I noticed the Marine recruiter walking toward the front door of the school.  I let him in and we chatted for a few minutes like normal.  It pisses me off to have seen the Marine recruiter 4 times in 2 weeks of school and not a single Army guy (I'm an Army vet).  As we talked we headed to the gym where he's setting up.  In there is the recruiters CO, a Major.  I introduced myself and we began talking.  I noticed right off that he must be a hell of a commander - the kind I used to enjoy working for.  One of those guys who you talk with for 30 seconds and leave feeling energized and motivated all over again - no matter how shitty the day.  

We were talking about media coverage of the war and it came up that he had been in Iraq twice before getting assigned to recruiting.  I mentioned what I've heard about the biased media coverage.  He said the war on the ground and the war on TV are two different wars.  As an example I mentioned the Captain (I couldn't remember his name at the time) who was from Chili (NY) who got hardly a mention, even in the LOCAL papers (I'm only about an hour and a half away).  He smiled and said "You mean Brian Chontosh.".  I said yeah, thats right.  He nodded.  I noticed that he called him Brian and asked him if he knew Capt. Chontosh.  He told me that yes, he knew him.  In fact, he was the one who wrote his award!  He was Chontosh's CO!