Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/30/2001 5:15:36 PM EDT
I've been trying to create rubber 22LR rounds with a half-charge of powder by pulling the slug from standard velocity 22's, dumping half the powder and replacing the slug with a hand-carved rubber slug (made from pencil eraser).  Problem is, not matter what I try I can't get them to work.  I have little experience (okay, none) in reloading, so I'm not sure what the issue is.  Only about 10 of the 80 of so I tried actually fired correctly.  Most of the time, the rubber ends up stuck in the barrel with several unburnt powder grains stuck to it (and more in the action).  I've tried paper-patching the rubber bullet to get a tighter fit, but the same thing happened.  I also tried shoving a small wad of paper onto the powder before inserting the rubber slug, but that didn't work either.  Finally tried doing both at the same time, still didn't work.  I'm currently at a loss.  Suggestions?
Link Posted: 12/30/2001 5:18:44 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 12/30/2001 5:22:06 PM EDT
[#2]
I would think that the rubber is probably too "sticky" to be propelled out of the barrel without a larger charge. You're probably getting your barrel pretty nasty in the process as the rubber is melting off in the barrel once it is propelled out of the case.

Without "bullets" of the exact same weight and shape it's going to be hard to get one correct charge. I doubt you really need to worry too much about overpressure, but it's something you may want to think about.

What are you doing this for anyways? Wouldn't it be easier to use wax for indoor shooting ammo? You wouldn't have to worry about your "bullets" bouncing anywhere either.

Take all of the above with a grain of salt, cause I've got no experience loading up erasers....
Link Posted: 12/30/2001 5:23:02 PM EDT
[#3]
how nutty- and I thought I had seen everything...
Link Posted: 12/30/2001 5:25:23 PM EDT
[#4]