Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 6/5/2003 5:07:40 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 6/5/2003 5:12:51 PM EDT by Ohio]
No one denies that training has changed. Experts in the field say that the changes are for the better, by eliminating unneeded "nice to know" stuff no one (well, few) remembers anyway. I take no stand; I don't consider myself expert enough to judge MDs with advanced degrees in Emergency Medicine. --subject shift-- Most Basics out there have enough troubles; We as a general rule, don't want the added requirements; I don't want to push drugs or interpret rythyms; frankly I don't run consistently or often enough on our county squad to stay up on any advanced skills. We get maybe one cardiac run a month; that's not enough to stay competent. I am an EMT-B in Ohio; we use preloaded Epi pens and nitro spray. I'm good with that. I DO, however, want to keep Epi, nitro, and glocometers. These are things that help immensely and immediately; and are really hard to hurt someone with if you remember an *easy* protocol. I personally can give IM and SQ injections quite competently; I am an amateur vet working on dogs and goats for the most part. I don't want to load syringes in a hurry on people, as I fear getting rattled as I wouldn't do it more than every couple months and I don't trust myself to do the math.
I really do appreciate you and your service as a volunteer EMT-B.
View Quote
I thank you for that. One more thing:
wiggy762 Are you seriously suggesting that EVERYONE that can sign up for a class, struggle through and pass the state exam should be given the authority to admin drugs to your family?
View Quote
Is pretty much a definition of how one becomes a nurse, doctor, or paramedic as well; so I suppose so. Larry
Link Posted: 6/5/2003 6:07:57 PM EDT