Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
10/20/2017 1:01:18 AM
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/28/2005 8:08:53 PM EDT
let me start by saying i have no real motorcycle experience, but I have managed to ride a dirtbike up and down the street a couple of times. I'm getting pretty serious about getting one of these dual-sport types of bikes. It'll be probably 50/50 trail/street use. I'm 6' and 190lbs. I'm most interested in a 250cc size. I was at a local bike shop and the sales guy says the 250 is just too small for street use, because it can't get me out of a jam. I hesitae to go bigger, because I want something light and easy to learn on, and pretty much bulletproof with regard to ease of use, maintenance, etc. I'm in Cali., so I understand some street-legal bikes elsewhere won't fly here.

My off-road use would be for trail and desert rides. I have NO interest in jumping off of anything, actually. (Call me chicken, that's OK.

If I took it to work, it would be ~8mile commute each way. I could do freeway or side streets; Of course freeway would be faster.

So what do you think? Is 250 too small for any street use? Do you have suggestions for good models? I guess Honda stopped making theirs. All they offer now is a 650.

Other good web resources? thanks!
Link Posted: 9/28/2005 8:18:45 PM EDT

Originally Posted By dogcaller: