Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/11/2011 9:01:13 PM EDT
So, I'm a WA resident that has just moved to AZ.  Thinking that since I could buy long guns while down here I ordered my AR receiver before I changed my residency.  Turns out that I can buy a rifle but not a rifle receiver.  WTF is that about?  It's not a big deal I guess, I think I'll have time to go and get my license switched over tomorrow.  Still a bummer since it was that last part I needed.

I really am starting to dislike the ATF lately...

D
Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:03:19 PM EDT
[#1]
You can buy long guns out of state.

A receiver is not a long gun. It is an 'other'.

Same as 18-20 year olds not being able to buy stripped receivers.

Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:06:39 PM EDT
[#2]
I have dual residency (I own houses in two different states). I have been able to buy a lower as long as it has a stock!
Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:11:13 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

I have dual residency (I own houses in two different states). I have been able to buy a lower as long as it has a stock!

If you truly do have dual residency, you can buy handguns and stripped lowers too in both states of your residencies.

Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:12:30 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:

Yes, purchasing a complete lower should be fine I would think. Since it has a stock, it's a rifle.

Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:15:17 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:

Quoted:

If you truly do have dual residency, you can buy handguns and stripped lowers too in both states of your residencies.  

Assuming the FFL is comfortable with the transaction!  Most are not!  Since I cannot have a drivers license in both states that does not work so well!
Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:32:09 PM EDT
[#6]
All that's necessary are some utility bills, some identification (to match your name), and possibly proof you live in the state as your home (i.e. not a vacation home).
Link Posted: 8/11/2011 9:38:01 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted:
Quoted: