Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/22/2006 4:43:13 AM EDT
I'm a network admin with a Windows dominant background, I know a few basic Unix commands.  My new company is heavily into Linux (Redhat), and I'd like to be able to at least discuss Linux intelligently with my colleagues.

What's the best Distro to learn Linux on, and what is the best way to learn Linux?

Thanks,

Michael
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 4:47:10 AM EDT
[#1]
A LiveCD is a good way to start. I believe Knoppix is the most popular one. You can pop it into any Windows computer and boot right into Linux without changing anything. Your hard drive isn't touched, and the OS is on a CD/DVD, so you can't break anything either. A good way to fiddle around and learn what's going on before you actually try and install it on a computer.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 4:52:32 AM EDT
[#2]
Ok, if you are really going to learn linux, you are going to do it the hard way. start yourself out with trying to install Gentoo. If you can get through that, you are golden. The rest is pie.

ETA: Yes i know that is not the REALLY hard way of learning linux, such as LSF or somthing, but if you can figure out gentoo, you can figure out anything.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 6:06:31 AM EDT
[#3]
+1 on Knoppix.

If you need NVidia support, you'll have to use Morphix instead;  it also supports easy adding of applications (the "morph" part) through burning a second session on the CD.  If you are doing a lot of wireless LAN stuff, Kanotix supposedly supports the most cards (I never use wireless, so can't say from experience).

There are lots of others out there if these don't do everything you want.

www.knoppix.net/
www.morphix.org/
www.kanotix.com/

Link Posted: 2/22/2006 6:08:35 AM EDT
[#4]
Mac OS X.
Link Posted: 2/22/2006 6:13:45 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted: