Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/28/2005 5:02:12 PM EDT
I'm attemping OCS selection for the Army reserves.  I'll be taking the ASVAB and my physical this week then on to the board after I turn in my packet.

What kind of questions can I expect? How do they structure the interview?
Link Posted: 8/28/2005 5:32:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Did you take the Officer Selection Battery yet? The only intereview I recall for approval to attend OCS was an interview with my CO. IIRC, I didn't go to the Officer Selection Board until after I graduated from OCS. My memory may be failing me though, it was in 1988/89 afterall.
What I do recall is that you stand before a board of Officers, three or four IIRC. They ask you a few "softball" questions and swear you in. It had a rubber stamp feel to it.
Link Posted: 8/29/2005 3:08:41 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 8/29/2005 5:22:33 PM EDT
[#3]
Sukebe, it's called the "USAREC (United States Army Recruiting Command) OCS/WOFT Board."  After the ASVAB and physical I'll get my packet togather, which consists of background info, waivers and letters of recommendation, etc... turned in by a certain date to make the next board.  The boards are scheduled throughout the calendar but I'm going for the next one.

The recruiter told me the board is like a job interview.  They ask about your prior service and what I have to offer the Army leadership wise.  If it has the "rubber stamp" feel to it then it doesn't sound like they'll grill me.  I still want to be sure of what I'm up against.

Quoted:
Be black, or at least asian.

LOL!  I hope not, sounds like they need people to badly to be choosy about race.

Link Posted: 8/29/2005 11:01:03 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 8/29/2005 11:22:04 PM EDT
[#5]
I applied for the MArine OCS. I did not physically stand infront of a board, they just reviewed packages. I did not get selected. I cant run very fast.
Link Posted: 8/29/2005 11:47:33 PM EDT
[#6]