Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/10/2002 7:27:45 PM EST
I've gotten two emails today  and two yesterday with the Klez virus or whatever it is and its coming from this site to my personal email.  I deleted them right away before opening so I didn't get the address.  I'll try to see whos sending it next time.  Anyone else still getting these?
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 7:49:04 PM EST
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 7:54:49 PM EST
I received one this morning and this one just a couple of minutes ago. I didn't open the attachments to either one but they looked strange enough to just delete.

From: matmccabe   Subject: TARGET PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT

Here's the properties if anybody can decipher any of it:

Sender: [email protected]
Received: from forsyth-2000-b ([])
by siaag2ac.compuserve.com (8.9.3/8.9.3/SUN-1.12) with ESMTP id AAA03267
for ; Sat, 11 May 2002 00:33:55 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from Ozcixfn [] by forsyth-2000-b
 (SMTPD32-7.00) id A64D4260132; Fri, 10 May 2002 23:55:57 -0400
From: matmccabe
To: [email protected]
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
Message-Id: <200205102355376.SM01428@Ozcixfn>
Date: Sat, 11 May 2002 00:33:56 -0400
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:04:43 PM EST
     It says the sender on yours it thaskins@forsythcable, which I'm pretty sure is Tommy Haskins of Georgia Precision in Forsyth, GA.  I wonder if he know hes sending this, or maybe its a fake post made to look like hes sending it.
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:07:25 PM EST
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:18:34 PM EST
I don't have a clue. The subject was gun related to I just assumed it came from here. I guess it could be from some vendors email list. Thats even scarier. Thanks
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:19:24 PM EST
Just erased one from my ar15.com email account. So, yes, it is still making its rounds.

Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:22:05 PM EST
BTW, anyone receive any of these bastards (emails) from me?? Curious about this.

Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:24:10 PM EST
Haven't received it in a while as far as I know.  Its hard to determine sometimes if the email I receive is spam or because of this virus.  But only received one maybe two with the actual virus.  Have received a few with Klez emails but no virus attached, but not recently as far as I know...
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 8:32:57 PM EST
yep, still getting them.  got 3 today (well, i guess technically it was yesterday) in fact.

some names i recognize as ar15.com posters.  some i don't recognize at all.  one sounded like a business contact email addy, something like "info@......".  ar15.com email catches 'em and burns 'em in hell so i haven't been burned by it yet (ARlady types as she violently knocks on wood!).
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 9:01:20 PM EST
What happens if you open it? Don't know much about viruses. What's worst case scenerio?
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 9:10:31 PM EST
What happens if you open it? Don't know much about viruses. What's worst case scenerio?
View Quote

just ask beekeeper.  you don't need to know anything other than the fact they cause lots of problems and make you spend lots of money.

bottom line:  don't open an attachment from an addy you don't recognize.

better yet:  get yourself (if you don't already have one) a good virus detection package and keep it updated.
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 9:13:15 PM EST
Link Posted: 5/10/2002 9:14:54 PM EST
Link Posted: 5/11/2002 2:34:37 PM EST
Link Posted: 5/11/2002 4:58:48 PM EST
Link Posted: 5/11/2002 5:34:25 PM EST
My ISP virus protector stopped one a few minutes ago for  "[email protected]" and for some reason that sounds familiar but it isn't anyone in my address book.

This is the only one that sounded familiar out of the dozen or so messages I've received.
Link Posted: 5/11/2002 6:22:07 PM EST
I've been hit about 2 or 3 times a day for quite a while now.  Luckily my ISP catches every one of them.
Link Posted: 5/11/2002 7:59:08 PM EST
any computer nerds on here who can return fire to these bastards?
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 5:05:54 AM EST
I keep getting hit from [email protected] who I believe is one of us.  Thankfully the virus protection  here on this site is screening them out before they can even get to my account and I have sent e mail back to that address with no reply.
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 6:58:34 AM EST
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 7:17:28 AM EST
Haven't had one, but then again my email addy is hidden on my posts [:D]
View Quote

Why don't you just activate your AR15 mail account? It will kill the virus, folks can still e-mail you??
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!

You will receive an email every Friday morning featuring the latest chatter from the hottest topics, breaking news surrounding legislation, as well as exclusive deals only available to ARFCOM email subscribers.

By signing up you agree to our User Agreement. *Must have a registered ARFCOM account to win.
Top Top