Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 7/23/2013 12:10:28 AM EST
I've been learning to ride on a 125cc Yamaha YZF R for the past 6 months and plan on getting my full licence this November.

Has anyone had a Triumph Daytona 600 or 650? If so are they reliable and good for a first 'big' motorcycle?

The particular one I'm thinking of getting.

Also considering Yamaha R6, Honda CBR600RR and Suzuki GSXR600.
Link Posted: 7/23/2013 11:50:53 AM EST
[Last Edit: 7/23/2013 11:52:57 AM EST by Gixxersixxer]
I have a '03 Suzuki 600 but a friend has a Daytona 600 I've put a few hours on.

The low end torque of the Triumph is nice for commuting. It's a pretty streamlined bike and has good handling. My friend's bike has an electrical issue that drains the battery if he doesn't leave it on a tender if it's not ridden for more than a week.

I went up 2 teeth in the rear sprocket on my bike since I ride it daily April-October as a commuter bike.

Any current 600 sportbike can work as a beginner bike. It all depends on how much self control the rider has. My first bike a '93 GSX-R600. It had already been dropped a few times and I dropped it a couple times too. Don't go all out on a starter bike, get one you can still make mistakes on. Put a few seasons on it then sell it when you want something nicer. The Suzuki SV-650 is also a highly rated beginner bike and is pretty cheap compared to a 600SS.
Link Posted: 7/23/2013 5:08:36 PM EST
In the world of 6xx class Sport bikes, the Daytona rules.
Everything else is just trying to the best first loser

Link Posted: 7/23/2013 6:54:55 PM EST
I had a TT600 - the precursor to the D600/D650. The engine was the same (the Daytonas got better fuel injection programming and slightly different camming, as well), as was the frame and basic suspension setup. The TT's "soft" styling was criticized, so Triumph went full-retard on the origami styling for the Daytonas.