Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/22/2020 12:12:56 PM
Posted: 11/22/2012 4:31:44 AM EST
I have a dumb question that I am afraid I know the answer to. I am a middle school wrestling coach and try to get a parent to photograph matches for a end of the year banquet where I give them a CD of pictures and video's so we can give them something to look back on (and to hook them on the sport). I have tried having them use several point and shoot type digital cameras that we have at the house and most of the shots are terrible. Very blurry and never really crisp.

I am going to try to turn down my exposure time on the "best" camera we have, a Canon PowerShot 150, but wonder if there is a better camera that isn't going to cost me many hundreds of dollars. Any suggestions for affordable (and good) on the used market?

I'm sure the answer is to buy a $500-$1000 camera and a $500 lens, but that isn't going to happen.

Any ideas?
Link Posted: 11/22/2012 4:39:12 AM EST
I think you answered your own question.
Link Posted: 11/22/2012 4:53:52 AM EST
If only it could be done with a $500 lens... Camera body, perhaps you can find one that cheap. My setup to shoot sports runs close to $10k...

What you are looking for in a lens is one with a wide aperture that allows you to keep the shutter speed higher (kind of like a shot gun, the smaller the number the bigger the opening). A professional lens that is "fast" will maintain a constant aperture throughout the focal length, say f2.8. Lenses that come with cameras or are less expensive have a variable aperture based on focal length because the front element moves further away from the back of the lens making the relative size of the aperture smaller. These lenses are marked like this 28-200 3.5-5.6...meaning with the lens wide open at 28mm the aperture is 3.5 & at 200 without changing the physical size of the aperture it is equivalent to 5.6 @200mm.