Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 12/30/2005 2:45:41 AM EDT
Hello All,

This will be my first non-firearms post. I work in IT as a Desktop Support Manager for Deutsche bank. I just came across a news article that has me fuming written by a person who works for the same bank as I do. This industry is going down the toilet because of outsourceing, any one who has had their position outsourced can relate. The bank I work for outsources many positions overseas since they are a European bank I cant really complain. My complaint is when people over seas start thinking "Americans" are dumb because we cant understand people who do phone support for US customers and can barely speak english. I would never call someone dumb just because he/she didnt speak english but I do get fustrated when i call for support and cant understand the people who's job it is to "talk me through" a problem. Some may say the book is fictional but the ideas and thought behind it are probably all to real.
Here is the article I was reading about  and a quote from the book.
"Remember, a thirty-five-year-old American's brain and IQ is the same as a 10-year-old Indian's brain ... Americans are dumb, just accept it. I don't want anyone losing their cool during the calls..." the instructor tells a class.
Article
Link Posted: 12/30/2005 2:49:55 AM EDT
[#1]
I must be dumb because I can't really understand how American companys save money by doing this. ??????
Link Posted: 12/30/2005 3:12:15 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I must be dumb because I can't really understand how American companys save money by doing this. ??????

I can.  Top-tier support technicians in India are paid $150/month.  Some of the companies my company supports (we do e-commerce outsourcing) have moved their support to India.
Link Posted: 12/30/2005 4:11:56 AM EDT
[#3]
Plus, people want 24 hour support.  You can call tech support and get someone at 3am, it's their regular work day there.