Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 2/18/2010 8:41:21 PM EDT
I've always thought I'd like to attend law school, and am seriously thinking of attending after retiring from the military.  I know there are a ton of lawyers here on the board, did any of you start your career so late in life?  I'd be about 42-43 by the time I graduated law school.  Of course I would have about $50K from the MGIB to spend towards school, and my retirement income, so I wouldn't be quite as broke as some young lawyers.  I'd like to specialize in aviation law, since all of my undergrad and graduate education is in the field.  

Do you think it would be worth it or is it too late in life to realize any decent earning potential?
Link Posted: 2/19/2010 6:26:58 AM EDT
You can certainly get through law school, learn the trade and earn a good living (hopefully) after that.  None of the top firms will touch you due to age.  

As an aside, the guys who go to law school really young often do not shine.  And the ones who go to school too old (45+) do not do so well because their brains have ossified.  Former public sector people are particularly prone to this condition.
Link Posted: 2/19/2010 6:29:36 AM EDT
A lot of my friends in law school right now are over 40.  In my opinion they are well adjusted, disciplines and make great law students.

I'm a twenty-something and there are times I wish I would have waited a bit longer to jump in.
Link Posted: 2/19/2010 9:27:37 AM EDT
Quoted: